National Black Nurses Association Virtual Installation Ceremony of its new Board of Directors


Join the Zoom Conference

NBNA Mission: To serve as the voice for Black nurses and diverse populations ensuring equal access to professional development, promoting educational opportunities and improving health.

The National Black Nurses Association is fortunate to have great nursing leaders among its leadership in a variety of areas. The summary below is just an example of the signature programs and activities that draw African American nurses to NBNA. These programs help NBNA members grow stronger as they seek to provide culturally competent health care services in our communities.

The National Black Nurses Association (NBNA) was organized in 1971 under the leadership of Dr. Lauranne Sams, former Dean and Professor of Nursing, School of Nursing, Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, Alabama. NBNA is a non-profit organization incorporated on September 2, 1972 in the state of Ohio. NBNA represents 150,000 African American registered nurses, licensed vocational/practical nurses, nursing students and retired nurses from the USA, Eastern Caribbean and Africa, with 92 chartered chapters, in 35 states.

The National Black Nurses Association’s mission is “to represent and provide a forum for Black nurses to advocate and implement strategies to ensure access to the highest quality of healthcare for persons of color”.

NBNA salutes the Black Nurses who laid the foundation to establish the National Black Nurses Association: Dr. Lauranne Sams, Betty Jo Davidson, Gertrude Baker, Barbara Garner, Dr. Mary Harper, Mattiedna Kelly, Phyllis Jenkins, Florrie Jefferson, Judy Jourdain, Geneva Norman, Betty Smith Williams, Etherlrine Shaw, Anita Small, Doris A. Wilson, and Gloria Rookard.

NBNA has had 12 presidents in its 44 years history: Dr. Lauranne Sams, 1973-1977; Dr. Carrie Rogers Brown, 1977-1979; E. Lorraine Baugh, 1979 – 1983; Ophelia Long, 1983 – 1987; Dr. C. Alicia Georges, 1987 – 1991; Dr. Linda Burnes Bolton, 1991-1995; Dr. Betty Smith Williams, 1995-1999; Dr. Hilda Richards, 1999-2003; Dr. Bettye Davis Lewis, 2003-2007; Dr. Debra A. Toney, 2007 – 2011; Dr. Deidre Walton, 2011 – 2015. Dr. Eric J. Williams – 2015 – Current


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.